Kingdom of Amalur or Fable with Brains

9 02 2012

I just got Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning Tuesday, and I love it! It manages to blend the hack and slash style gameplay with a decent World of Warcraft-esque talent system and creates a fun adventure.  I, however, fail to see Todd McFarlane’s art design anywhere in the game, despite his usual iconic style.

The game functions on the concept of Fates. Which basically amounts to a very generalized class system. You are given 3 starters Might, Finesse, and Sorcery or Fighter, Rogue, and Mage.  As you gain experience in levels and power, you can specialize directly in each of those paths, or diverge talent points into a duo hybrid fate/trio.  Each granting bonuses to that play style, allowing a great deal of customization. All in all, this seems like a mature version of Fable, with a greatly improved quest system. Though I think the map functions decently, I think it should be more customizable and I wish I didn’t have to drop into the start menu every time to see a larger picture of it.

While the weapons pictured above are the pre-order bonus items, I wanted to give you guys an idea of what was in the game.  For “might” players, you have greatswords, warhammers, and 1-handed  swords. Sorcery players receive staves, sceptres, a unique melee weapon: the chakram, which functions more or less as a dual wielded set of ring blades.  In a word: FAST. Lastly, the “finesse” player is granted daggers and my personal favorite, the faeblade. Faeblades are basically (for WoW players) the Twin Blades of Azzinoth. A medium sized fist weapon with dual blades on either side. This weapon is slightly weak but its speed more than makes up for the lack of damage.

All in all, I think Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a well crafted adventure, that will keep you entertained for a large portion of time.  I’ve already spent a few hours playing and I haven’t even left the first set of quest hubs.  So I think it will last me a long time, provided I don’t get too drawn back into Mass Effect to correct the mistakes that got Wrex killed.

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning scores a B+.

Nic

Actions

Information




