Button Mashing at the Soulcalibur V Tournament.

11 02 2012

Someones not paying attention...

Nerd Farm is all about getting out and mingling with the nerd community.  Last week Insert Coin(s) in Las Vegas held a Soulcalibur V tournament that I decided to try my hand at.  I haven’t played Soulcalibur since the first installment on the Dreamcast and I’ll let you in on a secret, I wasn’t good then and I’m probably even worse now.  I was quickly reminded that Soulcalibur V isn’t really a button mashing fighter as my losses stacked up like Tetris set at the hardest difficulty.  I actually called fellow Nerd Farm author Nic for button mapping and tactics since I didn’t know any of them.  Vertical & horizontal attacks, blocking, and grabs don’t do anything if you can’t actually reach the person you’re trying to attack.  Even Xiba with his staff and Ezio with his hidden guns I couldn’t win more than 2 rounds.  Tournaments at Insert Coin(s) are beginning to get competitive, even more so when it comes to fighters.  Either way I’ll try my hand at any tournament just for the story.  Always an enjoyable experience even if I did lose both matches with a combined record of 2-14.

The next tournament will be for UFC Undisputed 3 on February 14th.  I don’t think I’m brave enough to even attempt that one, maybe I’ll hit the next on for Twisted Metal.

Burke

Actions

Information




